Liver…dun, dun, dunnnnnn

Yeah, I know. I thought so too. I might still think so.

Liver is one of the most nutrient-rich foods that exists. Organic beef liver is fairly inexpensive and easy to find here. After testing deficient in zinc, and having various tooth problems that I’m learning point to nutrient/mineral deficiency, I decided I would put on my big-girl pants and try it. Liver 1-2 times per week is recommended in the Bradley diet for pregnant women, as well as the Weston Price diet for pregnant and nursing women. It has the perfect balances of nutrients – no danger of overdosing on one particular thing, or missing nutrients that will help absorb the others.

So, the package I bought was about one pound. It cost around $2. It was frozen and I thawed it in the fridge for a couple days before getting up the nerve to do something with it. Nick was gone at work, and the kids were watching a movie. It was time.

According to the recipe in Nourishing Traditions, I had let the liver marinate in lemon juice for several hours. Then I dredged it in brown rice flour, salt and pepper and browned each side of the slices in clarified butter (ghee) over high heat. I don’t ever cook on high heat, but several recipes in NT recommend it. I wonder if high heat is different over a gas flame than it is on an electric range? I have one of those flat top electric ranges and high heat burns stuff. Luckily I watched it closely. I think it took 1-2 minutes on each side for it to be browned. I then transferred it to a plate in the oven set at 350. Then I realized that was way too hot and turned it down to 300, which was probably still too hot.

After reading the recipe again, I realized I was supposed to have onions browning in another pan. Oops. So I sliced those up and threw them in the pan with more butter and olive oil. It said 30 minutes on medium, which became 10 minutes on medium low. They would have been totally burnt otherwise.

I pulled the liver out of the oven and noticed that the larger piece had bled through the flour crust. Gulp. I took the smallest piece of the three, a little smaller than a deck of cards, and put it on a plate with the onions. Then I began pep-talking myself. I wish I was kidding.

You can do this. It’ll be fine.

I took the first bite. The breading was good, crunchy and seasoned the right amount. The liver was soft and easy to chew. It didn’t taste funny until after I swallowed, then it had an almost metallic aftertaste. The onions helped, but I’m not really a huge fan of onions anyway, so I kind of had to make myself eat those too. About this point, Hannah walked into the kitchen.

“What’s that?”

“Liver.” (I was proud of myself, I said this totally matter-of-factly)

“Can I have some?”

“Sure!”

I cut off a tiny bite and gave it to her.

“Yum!” And she walked off.

Audrey came in, did the same thing, and had the exact same reaction.

OK, Sara, don’t be a baby!

I finished the piece.

I can’t say it’s my favorite, but it is edible. Mostly. And after reading the things I have about it, I will definitely be eating it again. I don’t know that I will serve it to my family until I learn to eat it easily. The last thing I want is to influence my children’s opinion of such a healthy food with my own pre-conceived ideas about it. So, there ya go.

2 Comments

  1. Shelly said,

    February 28, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I got Nourishing Traditions for Christmas from my mom, and I also gave one to her! It was kinda funny! Anyhoo, I remember my mom feeding us liver as kids and the thought of the texture and chalkiness of it makes me want to gag. GOOD for you for being brave and trying it! Are you gonna try the brains that Sally recommends? Ha! Let me know how that works out for you…hee-hee!

    • Sara Kay said,

      March 1, 2010 at 12:54 am

      Oh man, where do you even FIND that stuff? Yeah…don’t plan on it. Yet. 😉


Leave a Reply

