My Pantry

My soaking and fermenting projects were gradually taking over my kitchen counter, so I decided it was high time to make space for them in my pantry. I took out anything that does not get used frequently, or anything that would be better stored elsewhere, and thanks to my HUGE pantry, now have a whole shelf available!

Here’s the closeup:

I use a dry erase marker on glass jars to record either the start time (S) or the end time (E), and if a marker doesn’t work well it gets a sticky note instead. I can’t keep it all straight in my head. 🙂 On the shelf left to right, sauerkraut, sourdough starter, soaking walnuts, soaking almonds, milk souring to make cream cheese and whey, buckwheat soaking, homemade sourdough gluten free bread. I’m working toward getting rid of plastic bowls, but glass ones are expensive so we’re working with what we’ve got for now. I have been able to find several glass dishes/cookware at thrift stores.

Leave a Reply

