Cookies

We really like cookies around here. Unfortunately, that means we usually eat the whole batch within a day or two. Even if I freeze some, we raid the freezer. Oh well!

There were two cookie recipes that caught my eye in Nourishing Traditions, the almond cookies, and the macaroons. Actually, these are both in the “snacks and finger foods” section, not the desserts. Does this make them okay? At least they use maple syrup and honey, which I tend to use interchangeably, depending on what I have more of at the moment.

The almond cookies were almost like biscotti – crisp, but heavy with the almonds, not too sweet. And addictive. The girls can’t have almonds (salycilate), but Nick and I had no trouble finishing the batch all by ourselves.

I just finished baking the macaroons. One thing I don’t understand, is why the directions say to bake at 200 until completely dry and crisp? I’ve never had a crisp macaroon. What I love about them is their soft, chewy consistency! Or maybe it’s just the macaroons I’ve had? I’m not sure I’ve ever made them myself before – just bought the ones in the yellow tin from the health food store. Those are made with vegetarian (soy) fed eggs, which I now know make me sick. Using pastured eggs makes all the difference! Anyway, I only did the initial 30 minutes at 300 part of the baking, and ohhhhh man. They are chewy and light, and crispy on the outside…I hope there are some left when Nick gets home! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. sarah said,

    March 12, 2010 at 7:49 am

    any good vegan cookie recipe you know of? And thoughts on soy milk? Thanks! ( I follow you thru Joanna) 🙂

    • Sara Kay said,

      March 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      Lots of yummy vegan baking at http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/ I’ve used lots of her recipes, and they’re always really good.
      This is my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe: http://docs.google.com/View?id=dg57nwgz_13fcwnpjd7 I use Palm Oil shortening, and have substituted ener-g egg replacer for the egg, which works just fine though the cookies are a little less chewy than with the egg.

      Thoughts on soy milk…oh, man, what a topic! 🙂 Generally, I think it’s a bad idea, for a couple of reasons. First, those “natural estrogens” that are supposedly so good for you might not be. There are some studies that seem to demonstrate everything from higher breast cancer risk to early onset of puberty in little girls, to feminization of little boys, linked to soy intake! There are so many alternatives that I just think it’s better to avoid soy generally, even if we’re not sure if these things are true. Secondly, many people are sensitive to soy, I am painfully so. Nourishing Traditions has quite a bit about soy in it, as does the Weston Price Foundation website: westonaprice.org.

      BTW, are you vegan in principle, or just looking for egg and dairy free recipes? The Weston Price Foundation site also has lots of info about health related to being vegan.

      Glad you’re reading. 🙂


Leave a Reply

